Skip to content

Research Group

Current Group Members

Graduate Students

Postdoctoral Scholars and Research Scientists

  • Amir Ajorlou, Ph.D.,  Research Scientist, Laboratory for Information and Decision Systems, MIT
  • Farzan Farnia, (2019-2021), PhD, Stanford University, starting as  Assistant professor at Chinese University of Hong Kong, July 2021
  • Rabih Salhab, Ph.D., (2019-2021)  Ecole Polytechnique de Montreal
  • Anuran Makur, PhD , (2019-2021), Assistant professor of  Computer Science, Purdue University (starting August  2021)
  • Horia Mania, PhD, (2020-2022), jointly advised by Suvrit Sra and Devavrat Shah

Visiting Students/Researchers

  • Nathalie Northrup (Spring 2021) , UROP student, MIT CEE
  • Henri Devillez, visiting student, Université Catholique de Louvain
  • Philipp Koehler, visiting PhD student, University of Stuttgart
  • Themis Charalampous, Assistant Professor, University of Alto, Finland

Group Alumni

Former Graduate Students

  • Alex Stewart (jointly supervised by Prof. Dan Lee) (2006-2007), M.S., now a senior Engineer at Oxbotica
  • Stamatina Lamprinakou (2013-2014), M.S., PhD student at Imperial College
  • Ali Ahmadzadeh (2003-2008), PhD, Lead Quantitative Analyst at Constellation Energy Group
  • Nima Moshtagh (2003-2008), Ph.D., Senior Staff Engineer, Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory
  • Nader Motee (2003-2007), Ph.D.,  Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Lehigh University
  • Alireza Tahbaz-Salehi (2004-2009), Ph.D.,  Professor of Managerial Economics, Kellogg School, Northwestern University
  • Jaelynn Oh (Wharton OPIM) (2011-2013), Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Operations & Information Systems Department, David Eccles School of Business, The University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Pooya Molavi (2008-2013), Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Managerial Economics, Kellogg School (starting 2020),  Northwestern University
  • Michael Zargham (2008-2014), Founder and CEO, Block Science
  • Chinwendu Enyioha (2008-2014), Ph.D.,  Assistant professor, University of Central Florida
  • Arastoo Fazeli (2008-2014),Ph.D.,  Founder, Index Level Trading LLC
  • Shahin Shahrampour (2009-2015), PhD, Assistant Professor, Industrial & Systems Engineering, Texas A&M University
  • Saad Aleem (2013-2016 ), M.S., staff Engineer, Oracle
  • Rasul Tutunov (CIS) (2011-2017), PhD,  Senior ML Researcher, Huawei R&D UK
  • Hoda Heidari (CIS) (jointly supervised with Prof. Michael Kearns) (2011-2017), Assistant Professor of Machine Learning and Software, CMU
  • Amin Rahimian (2012-2017),  Assistant Professor of Industrial Engineering, University of Pittsburgh
  • Vassilis Tzoumas (2012-2018) Assistant Professor of Aerospace Engineering, University of Michigan

Former Postdoctoral Scholars

  • César A. Uribe, (2018-2020), PhD, Assistant Professor, Rice University 
  • Emma Tegling, (2020) PhD, , Assistant professor,  Lund University
  • Michael Schaub (2017-19), PhD, Assistant Professor of Computer Science (tenure-track), RWTH Aachen University, Germany
  • Aryan Mokhtari (2017-19), Ph.D., Assistant Professor, ECE Department,  University of Texas, Austin
  • Milad Siami, (2017-19), PhD., Assistant Professor, ECE Department,  Northeastern University, Boston
  • Santiago Segarra (2016-2018), Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Rice University
  • Ali Kakhbod (2012-2014),  Assistant professor of Finance, Rice University
  • Alan Malek (2017-18), Data Scientist/Statistician, Optimizly
  • Abubakr Muhammad (2006-2007), Professor of Electrical Engineering at Lahore University of Management Sciences
  • Nader Motee (2007-2008), Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics at Lehigh University
  • Usman Khan (2009-2010), Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Tufts University
  • Victor Preciado (2008-2012), Associate Professor of Electrical and Systems Engineering at University of Pennsylvania
  • Serban Sabau (2012-2013), (Ph.D., University of Maryland, 2011), Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, Stevens Institute of Technology